Hello 2017

2017010414384301/04/2017

The start of a new year ignites optimistic feelings and goal setting in many people. It’s a time to reflect on what you’ve done or haven’t done in the past year, and to set resolutions that you hope to accomplish in the new one. It can be a sort of imaginary clean slate.

My biggest goal for 2017, started in 2016. I think it’s good to make goals of things you were working on in the prior year because that’s where your real focus lies. I ended my longest relationship in February of 2016, however, the decision to end it had been a long time coming. Since then, I have been trying to adapt and grow comfortable making my own happiness. I still have thoughts that I need to be with someone to be happier, but those thoughts lessen with each passing day. Now, bear with me, this goal isn’t exactly smooth or concrete, it comes with several sub-goals. The goal itself I suppose is Become Happier. It’s funny, that goal sounds like something we should always be aiming for. But somehow I think we don’t do all the things that make us happier. Here’s some of my to be happy goals:

  • Lots of rock climbing – it’s social and it’s healthy.
  • Forget about boys – those sort of relationships don’t tend to last in my case.
  • Be nicer to family – mostly my mom, I have a short fuse with her unfortunately, even though I love her like crazy.
  • Make time for friends – we all have more time than we think we do.
  • Work harder at work – it’s easy to be comfortable, I’d love to get my tasks done and learn more from my coworkers. We have a great environment and I need to get more involved.
  • Who doesn’t want to lose weight – I think rather I should track my waist line and such, I believe I am gaining muscle and it makes me think I’m never losing weight when in actuality the constant number is a good thing.
  • Be friendly with everyone – people surprise you, plus what is there to lose.

I think that’s a good start for January. Maybe I’ll change/add goals with each new month.

Leave a Reply

