Danny (DS2)

08/31/2017

I want to try and call him Danny.

Last Saturday(8/26) a lot of people I knew where all watching the pay-per-view fight for Mayweather vs. McGregor. Dan planned to watch the show with his friends in Dorchester. I hoped to see him after the fight not realizing how late the fight would go on. He told me he would call me when it did, and he promptly did just that. I asked if he wanted to come over, and said I could pick him up. I had gone to Jordan’s for a fire that night, and took a little while to leave. I did eventually make my exit and headed to Dan’s. We hungout in his sad excuse for a room before getting in my car to go back to my place. In the morning we laid in bed and watched Santa Clarita Diet – an awful TV show staring Drew Barrymore as a zombie. Around 10AM we decided to go for breakfast with Lauren. Steve didn’t show even though they had plans to go to a Red Sox game following. Dan ended up treating the two of us, it was really sweet of him. I feebly tried to make plans with him that day but he already had plans to go to his dad’s in Haverhill. Parting ways I told him to hit me up when he was back in Quincy. That day I also I declined free Red Sox tickets my sister offered me. Glad I ended up with no plans however, because around 1PM I realized I had a volleyball game at Carson Beach in Southie. I played an enjoyable 3 hours of volleyball in great weather. He didn’t hit me up that night.

On Tuesday(8/29) I was bummed I hadn’t received a text and decided to send him one. I made a joke about the awful TV show and extended an invite to join Lauren and I with her brother at Fuji. The text came moments before we got there so he didn’t join. He did however, invite me to a movie with him that night. He bought tickets to the 10PM showing of Spider-Man Homecoming and said he would pick me up at 9:15. He picked me up at 9 and we headed to Legacy Place in Dedham. We were exceptionally early for the movie, two steps into the lounge, we turned around to walk around the plaza. Circling around the stores, we stopped at JP Licks and got some ice cream. He ordered a medium despite my comment that I could’t eat much. Unfortunately, he chose vanilla ice cream. He made it a little better with [chocolate] jimmies. I joked that jimmies implies chocolate, but that in the south meant condoms. He told me the other definition of it in the south. I was light-hearted with our ice cream server who rang Dan up for $25… haha, not really. We sat outside and shared the ice cream. I tried to mutter what vanilla meant, but not sure I expressed it correctly. Headed back to the cinema I grabbed my phone from his car. The movie was great, we actually made a few comments back and forth during it while also interlocking are arms and my legs. When he pulled up to the house around 12:30AM, I gave him a soft invite in, knowing we both had work in the morning. Surprisingly I had what felt like a decent night’s sleep. His hold was comfortable. Except for one moment in the morning where a dream made me think someone else was holding me by force and I jolted him off me, loudly saying in my sleep “get off.” Awkward. He just continued to lay in my bed. It was either that morning or the night before he asked when I wanted to have kids. I told him what I had wanted when I was younger, married at 26, kids at 28. Not really on track for that since I turn 27 in a few days. He made me late again for work that morning.

Leave a comment